HSK Program

Introduction of HSK (Chinese Proficiency Test)

The Hànyǔ Shuǐpíng Kǎoshì (HSK), (Chinese: 汉语水平考试), translated as Chinese Proficiency Test, is the People's Republic of China's only standardized test of Standard Chinese language proficiency for non-native Chinese speakers.The new HSK is a standardized test of international Chinese proficiency launched by Hanban in 2009, which mainly tests the non-native Chinese speakers’ ability to communicate in Chinese in their life, study and work.

I. Test Structure

The new HSK is an international standardized exam that tests and rates Chinese language proficiency. It assesses non-native Chinese speakers’ abilities in using the Chinese language in their daily, academic and professional lives. There are 6 levels of written test and 3 levels of oral test,namely the HSK (level 1), HSK (level 2), HSK (level 3), HSK (level 4), HSK (level 6), and HSK (level 6).

II. Test Levels

The levels of the new HSK correspond to the levels of the Chinese Language Proficiency Scales for Speakers of Other Languages (CLPS) and the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEF) as follows:





HSK (Level 6)

Over 5,000

Level VI


HSK (Level 5)


Level V


HSK (Level 4)


Level IV


HSK (Level 3)


Level III


HSK (Level 2)


Level II


HSK (Level 1)


Level I


Test takers who are able to pass the HSK (Level 1) can understand and use very simple Chinese words and phrases, meet basic needs for communication and possess the ability to further their Chinese language studies.

Test takers who are able to pass the HSK (Level 2) have an excellent grasp of basic Chinese and can communicate in simple and routine tasks requiring a simple and direct exchange of information on familiar and routine matters.

Test takers who are able to pass the HSK (Level 3) can communicate in Chinese at a basic level in their daily, academic and professional lives. They can manage most communication in Chinese when travelling in China.

Test takers who are able to pass the HSK (Level 4) can converse in Chinese on a wide range of topics and are able to communicate fluently with native Chinese speakers.

Test takers who are able to pass the HSK (Level 5) can read Chinese newspapers and magazines, enjoy Chinese films and plays, and give a full-length speech in Chinese.

Test takers who are able to pass the HSK (Level 6) can easily comprehend written and spoken information in Chinese and can effectively express themselves in Chinese, both orally and on paper.

III. Test Principles

The new HSK follows the principle of “test-teaching correlation”, bases the design of the test on the current trends in international Chinese language training, and is closely related to textbooks. The purpose of the test is to “promote training through testing” and “promote learning through testing”.

The new HSK emphasizes the objectivity and accuracy of the evaluation and stresses the learners’ actual Chinese language abilities.

The new HSK sets clear test objectives to allow the test takers to be able to improve their Chinese language abilities in a systematic and efficient way.

IV. Testing Purposes

The new HSK retains the former HSK’s orientation as a general (or universal) Chinese language abilities test for adult learners. The results of the test can serve several purposes:

1. A reference for an educational institution’s decision-making concerning recruiting students, assigning students to different classes, allowing students to skip certain courses and granting students academic credits.

2. A reference for employers’ decision-making concerning the recruitment, training and promotion of test takers.

3. A method for Chinese language learners to assess and improve their proficiency in Chinese.

4. A method for Chinese language training institutions to evaluate training results.

V. Results Certificate

Test takers will receive the results for the new HSK issued by Hanban within one month after the test.

VI . Mandarin King HSK Test Training Materials Introduction

In order to help the test takers get familiar with the mode and questions of the new test, understand its contents and focuses, as well as master the test taking strategies, we have selected the series of test guides based on our sufficient study on the sample tests.

There are 6 books in this series, corresponding to the six levels of the new HSK. Each of book includes 10 written tests. 

All the authors and editors of this series are Chinese teachers with rich teaching experience, as well as researchers of international Chinese proficiency testing. The test materials at all levels ensure a full coverage of the vocabulary and language points required by the outline of new HSK. The language materials have been carefully controlled, and the amount of the questions as well as the time to answer the questions have been arranged reasonably. We have done our best to make the simulated tests more like the real new HSK tests.